Hey I've been playing guitar for about 2 years for 2 years with a low end strat clone and I feel that is about time to get a 2nd guitar, my price range is in the 300-500 range and I'm accustomed to rock/metal/blues style of playing. I've been considering going the ibanez route, but I wouldn't know what guitar to get that is good for my price range.

Please help me out here
Last edited by Narn01 at Dec 9, 2008,
try an epiphone sg 400
Gear:

Jackson Mark Morton Dominion
Mesa Dual Rect 2 Channel
Marshall JCM900 1960 cab
http://www.rondomusic.com/product849.html

Slightly thicker neck than Ibanez (2mm difference, not too noticeable), alder body, and pretty good stock active pickups.

Although it's heavier than an Ibanez, this is probably your best bet within your pricerange.

That, or a modded Ibanez RG350DX.

Best mods:
Replace pots with 500k ones
Take out Edge III Tremolo, sand down the wood some (Enough to fit in an OFR with about 2mm of space on each sider)
Pickup Swap
Quote by satchgear
I tried it out in store.

Great neck, nice n light, good tuning stability. Overall a good guitar. I didn't but it cause I generally only buy guitars over a grand now.
Quote by BigRob91
try an epiphone sg 400

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-SG-Standard-S.O.R-Electric-Guitar?sku=512455
My friend's getting one of these.
Quote by chip46
"I'm discontinuing production on the Timmy now as well. It might come back into production at some point down the road, but probably not because people will just clone it anyway cause they're stupid jerk face doo doo heads. -Paul C."
I'm leaning towards the Epiphone sg 400, i have yet to check out the rg yet.
For what you want to play, i think the sg400 is a wise choice. The rg's are nice, but the sg is a little more versatile.
Go used. Much better guitar to be had in that range used.
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6