so hiya, i''ve been playing bass guitar for 4months-ish, not hardcore, only when the band meets up, 1-2 a week.

anyhoo, i joined my friends band on a limb cause they needed a bassist. i only played guitar, and i wasn't great at that either (striving to be self taught, w/o the internets help aside from tabliture.)

but i really need to improve in bass, i don't want my suck mixing in with the bands talent. any ideas on practice regimens or whatnots? ( i don't have an amp at all, and i'm kinda broke and needing to buy my own bass too cause this bass is his dads bass, pretty ancient thing the lead singer doesn't want me to break.)

another question, i was thinking bout getting a 5 string bass, but i'm still a beginner, bad move? why so?

also, every time i search for ****, i end up empty handed, please, don't say "search" and then don't give me a keyword to search. hate that.
Getting a 5 string isn't necessarily a bad move, but I think you should get a 4 string first.
Most people here are going to recommend you try a Squier Custom Vintage Jazz. It's cheap and plays/sounds nice.
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.

www.myspace.com/tarsusmusic
If you feel like getting a 5 string, go ahead and get one.

Get a metronome or some other way to keep time, practice scales. Practiece at different tempos not just blistering fast.

There is big thread about scales around here somewhere.

When your with your band you don't have to be crazy. Start with roots, get a little better, then start adding some fills.
^ What he said.

I started out on a fiver and turned out fine. A four-banger is easier to get good at, but not by much...

Basically just go to a music store and start playing stuff. Of you like the feel of a fiver better, get one.
Nope, no sig here.