Hey everyone.

I've been playing guitar for four years now, and when I mean playing I mean looking at tabs. I'm sick of doing that and so from now on I'd like to actually learn the guitar and not just pick my time away with tabs that aren't going to help me too much. For the past week or so I've been practicing scales and learning the notes on the fretboard, my short term goal being to be able to quickly find a note on the frets, and to transfer melodies in my head into melodies on guitar without having to pick every note in existence to find the right one. My long term goals are to become a proficient guitar player along the lines of my favorite John Frusciante.

My problem right now is that I don't know what direction to take. I know quite a bit about guitar just from soaking in info from years of reading articles and books, but when it comes down to actually learning, I don't know what areas to focus on. I don't know exactly what scales I need to practice right now, what kind of exercises are best for my fingers, and I'm afraid that there's going to be an area of guitar playing that I might miss. I know it's all highly personalized what one needs to learn and in what order, but maybe some of you could give me rough examples of what you learned and when you learned it?

Thank a bunch
Getting a tutor would be a good idea, if not for a few months to get the ball rolling. Im sure he/she will have a pretty solid routine
I would but I don't have the money right now since I'm going to be paying for college classes.
Quote by Ieuanm
Getting a tutor would be a good idea, if not for a few months to get the ball rolling. Im sure he/she will have a pretty solid routine

+1.

Teachers will help immensely.
Member of the 7-String + ERG Legion.