Here's the story

me and my mate are both guitarists and have wanted to start a band but there have been nobody really to play bass and drums. recently i have just found out one of my best mates plays bass, sneaky i know, and my other good mate has just got some drums today.

my question is how long has it taken for all you small number of drumers in UG to learn the basics etc. of playing drums. as in how many hours/lessons etc. it took

thanks
If life gives you oranges, say "f*ck oranges" and bail.

Hey You!
I'm a born drummer so it didnt take to long for me.

But, it depends. If your going to be playing grindcore or death metal dont think hes gunna be a pro blast beaster on the first try. It can take a whole life time to be good or a few hours.
UG'S THRASHOHOLIC DRUMMER
WRECK YOUR NECK WITH A PASSION FOR THRASHIN
As long as you have a good sense of rhythm and a basic understanding of theory he'll just need to practise... well playing it.
May the Force be with You.
Carmel is hawt
I quit a band because one of the members was still in the early stages of learning his guitar, it really really sucked...
I thought it would be fine and he would get better with time, but it really took a lot of time. Its a shame because hes a nice guy, but it got frustrating.
What i was trying to say is; find a capable drummer, it will save a LOT of time.
Hello
heya

well i brought my drum kit about year and a half ago and ive taught myself, but my main instrument is still guitar.. i know nothin about theory of drums but i can still wack out a good beat or two.. so if he gets lessons and plays lots i guess a month or so.. super practise though.. depends also on what music you play.. likes of jazz is hard.. but i doubt youll be playin that :P metal.. depends on double bass or not.. rock beats are pretty simple.. so.. ye.. tell him to practise practise practise
:::Gear:::

Ibanez JS100
Marshall MGDFX Halfstack
Roland Cube 30
Line6 X3 Live
Aria Acoustic (idk what make)
lol nothing like that.