Hey guys. I have decided after 4 years that indeed...the Jazz III just aint for me. I played the small ones for roughly 3 and a half years and I have been using the XLs for 6 months. I have used reds, blacks, tortexs and the latest ones being the new ultex ones. I think I am drawn to them because I hear everyone else raving about them. I just can't seem to get any control with them. The normal size are too small for me to keep in position for more than a few licks, and the big ones just seem to stick with me. So all in all I think these picks have hindered my picking ability for all these years. However I found a 1mm Ibanez pick in my house and I think these are definetely the way to go, I know from having dabbled with them that they wear out quite quick, but if its a pick I will enjoy playing with and feel comfortable with, I think the extra money is worth it. I think tomorrow I am going to order me some of the Paul Gilbert signature Ibanez picks. Not because of his name, but because I have heard they are the best pick that Ibanez make from numerous people.

So my question is, has anyone else ever been in the same boat. Maybe not with a pick but an aspect of technique or something. Something that you have believed is the best because your hero or friends or whatever play in a certain way or use a certain piece of gear that you in turn believe you must incorporate only to discover the hard way that it hinders your progress. For instance, another personal example would be my picking, I spent a good couple of years trying to make sure my hand was sitting like my personal flavor of the months hand before realising that you have to actually play the way that is comfortable to you(surprise, surprise lol).
Andy