After many failures trying to start a band, and about 300 name changes for a band (many hours of brainstorming names to no avail) I just read the Online Band thread, and this sounds like a very interesting idea. What kind of things would I need to start an online band? Webcams? Vocal mics? etc?
Anyways, once I get what I need, I would be willing to get started.

I have been playing guitar for almost 2 years (I know, not very long). I am thinking of a band that likes funk, indie, and progressive rock (metal, meh, not my thing) Something around the lines of RHCP, Mars Volta, Frusciante's solo work, etc. If anyone is interested in thinking up something, feel free to post. I wouldnt want to assign someone to something they arent the best at, so I would keep it pretty loose. (I love singing, but I dont NEED it)

Vocals: Me, or someone else thats good
Guitar: I assume we could all contribute to some extent
Bass: not me, I cant even aim playing slap bass
Drums: NOT ME
Noise, etc: Whoever feels like it, I know a bit.

Since this is the internet age, I think that online bands could be a pretty good start
Quote by SlinkyMcdougall
I love the Volta

WOO! Nobody I know remotely likes them!
And Omar is a genius! FACT!
Do you like ATDI era stuff? I have always liked the sound that they made, equal, but seperate from TMV.
Do you think something like a webcam would be needed for an online band? (obvious answer says yes.)
Sounds like a good idea though. All of the musicians I know are egotistical drummers, and none of them like any of the music I like. (Except one, who might take up this drumming spot if I ask him)
Well I play guitars and drums. Just to let you know, I can play Cygnus....Vismun Cygnus all the way through basically.
how would you play drums and look at your webcam ? you would need like a 60 inch monitor