im not too good with pedals but from my understanding these allow you to hold a note for a long period of time..
thats about all i kno haha

what other uses does this pedal have?
what is a good one that is not overpriced but good quality?
it makes it so that all your notes sound the same volume,
so you can go from riffs to tapping and not have a volume drop

stuff like that
Quote by guitardude34875
be the music, not the scene
They just sort of make your tone sound more alive, its tough to describe.
Check out some sound samples on musiciansfriend or youtube or wherever.
But it gives it a nice warmer, almost twangy sound, when the sustain isn't cranked.
Quote by EndTheRapture51
no one fuckin cares
Quote by JT747
ok ill check it out..
and what are some that you recommend?

I have a Boss Compression-Sustainer CS-3, so that.
Also, good luck.
Quote by EndTheRapture51
no one fuckin cares
i doubt you need, judging from the fact you dont seem to know what you really want or need.
im not a fan of compression pedals anyway, they cant do anything that i cant do with my own hands.
Quote by BryanChampine
It was like a orgasm in my ear.
Chea_man is the best.
Quote by chea_man
i doubt you need, judging from the fact you dont seem to know what you really want or need.
im not a fan of compression pedals anyway, they cant do anything that i cant do with my own hands.

The TS doesn't know what they do, so he's asking about them. Don't jump on him because of it.

As for doing anything a compression pedal does with your hands.....I don't think so. It's not a night and day difference, but a compression pedal can definitely "smooth out" and give you a more-defined tone, as well as giving your clean tone a kind of "snap" to it. Basically.....if you're using a compression pedal properly, there's no way you can replicate it with your hands.