First off, I searched and didn't find anything. Searching MIDI gives only unrelated results, and of course searching MP3 is no help at all.

I want to learn how to play a melody from a techno song (Daft Punk's "Da Funk" live at Coachella) on the guitar (eventually also get a synth pedal or something so I can get it to sound like the original song as well...) but I can't do **** by ear. I'm serious. I am not gonna be able to figure it out by ear and there are no tabs for the part of the song I want.

I was thinking that I could use an MP3-to-MIDI (or WAV-to-MIDI, it doesn't matter, and YES THEY EXIST) converter and then just feed the MIDI into Power Tab and boom I've got a tab for it. I've never used such conversion software before and I don't know which program to use or whether anything really works. Any help, advice, feedback, or opinions would be appreciated.

Also, if someone knows how to get a good techno sound with just filters in an audio editing program, that'd be good too. I've tried but gotten nowhere close.
If you're not getting enough gain, you should totally just daisy-chain some solid state amps with headphone jacks together. Remember: Need gain? Use a chain!
------
Quote by Normul
You spell things like a jackass
Last edited by thelonesoldier at Dec 12, 2008,
MP3 to MIDI?

Excuse my ignorance, but is that even possible?

Are MP3 layers compressed and flattened into one track? If so, wouldn't it make it impossible to get the single layer you want to learn converted into a tab?

I'm not sure how this Powertab works though, so I might be wrong.
My Last.fm
USA Fender Stratocaster | Roland Cube 60 | VOX ToneLab LE
Do you know what key it's in?

If so, you could probably compose it. Figure out the starting note, then figure it out by determining the intervals between each note (whether they're a tone or semitone apart).
My Last.fm