Page 1 of 2
Hello I am new to the UG forums. I am looking for a good 30W compo amp in the pirice range of $300 - $500 AUD.

I have managed to find some amps that look seem pretty decent:
Vox Valtronix AD30VT $469
Vox Valtronix VT30 $499
Roland CUBE-30X $369
Marshall MG30DFX $399
Line 6 Spider III 30 $399
Fender FM65R $429
Peavey Vypyr 30 $439

How good are these amps? And are there any others I haven't mentioned? Should I go all solid-state or valve pre-amp?

My playing styles are as diverse as rock, metal, punk, grunge and blues. I am looking for a good all-round amplifier I can use for practice and recording.

Any help or opinions will be much appreciated.
Last edited by NoFate17 at Dec 12, 2008,
Stay away from the Marshall and the Line 6 and you'll be fine...any of the others are good. The Vox ones look best to me...you can't go wrong with tubes.
Nope, no sig here.
Yes I thought either the Vox or the Roland would be the best option, probably the Vox because it has tubes. But what about the Fender FM65R, it's over twice the power and the same price and the Peavey Vypyr 30 how do they perform?
-The Line6 Spiders have a buzzy, digital tone
-The Marshall MGs have a similar buzzy tone and are notoriously unreliable
-The Fender's OD and distortion are useless and muddy
-The Cube has only average cleans

So I'd narrow it down to one of the Voxs or the Vypyr, probably going with a Vox cause I've got more experience with them.

I suggest trying all those amps out first though and deciding for yourself.
Quote by Cathbard
If all you had to go on was the forum you'd think a Decimator could cure noise caused by dodgey stage lighting and restock the ocean's population of sperm whales
I have heard only good things about the Vox Valvtronix series. I think I will have to try them our first and see which one sounds the best to me. Thank you Mutant Corn and shadow__666 for your help.