Ok, here's a little thread on my guitar project, basically to motivate me. A while ago I came into possession of an Aria Flying V body and neck. A very nice guitar, but it had been treated very shabbily. It was covered in dents and gouges, and the various previous owners had (badly) applied about 10 different paint jobs, one on top of the other. I thought I could do something with it, so the owner gave me it for free.

My big problem is that it's a right-handed guitar, and I'm a left-handed guitarist. So as well as refinishing it and kitting it out with as much nice gear as my £100 can cover, I'm going to convert it into a lefty.

I'm not messing with the trem... the body is routed for a RH floyd, so that's what's going on it. Never did Stevie Ray Vaughan any harm! The headstock is also staying as is... partly because converting it is probably beyond a noob like me, and partly because I like reverse headstocks anyway.

Sorry if I'm rambling, I'm getting quite excited about embarking on my first proper project!

Anyway, here's the guitar with its multiple paint-jobs sanded off...

And here's my first piece of kit purchased for it...

Believe it or not I picked the floyd up for £1.20 on ebay, plus £5 p&p. So my total spend so far is £6.20 of £100. Not bad for a body, neck and trem.

Next step is to fill the control cavity on the right and make a new one on the left. More pics to follow when I get that done...
Is the routing on a right handed Floyd, different then a lefty? Good to know if it is.

I have a Washburn Dime V I'll be converting to left-handed soon. Gonna swap the nut for a Floyd Rose nut, relocate the strap buttons, and do something with the controls. Playing with the pedal idea. Gonna make some type of plate to cover the old control holes since I don't want to repaint. I like the factory camo.

Can't wait to see how this turns out!