Ok I've been playing for about 3 years and I've developed this style that sounds really unique. I doubt it honestly is but it sounds good to me. I developed it by playing all the notes that a singer sings in certain songs and also by examining the whole pentatonic boxes and trying to find notes inbetween that harmonize. and I end up just playing lead in that scale or mode. For example I'll solo over a simple Em-C-G-D chord progression with the notes E- F#- G- A- B- C- D....Or for another example the song Crash Into Me - Dave Matthews Band I can solo with the notes B- Df- Ef- E- F#- Af- A.... Or even another example Soulshine - Government Mule I can play in the G-minor pentatonic scale which is what sounds best I believe, but I can also play the notes G- A- Bf- C- D- Ef- F...I'm 100% sure these are all major scales but I don't think you'd call them major scales in this instance...Idk...I think notes I use to solo over The Em-C-G-D progression is E Phrygian? i'm not really sure..Could some people help me clear this up so I can understand the theory behind the solos and phrasing that I play everyday? Thank you very very much.

GmanSwerve
The first scale is E natural minor (spelt E- F sharp - G - A - B - C -D), the second is B major (spelt B - C sharp - D sharp - E - F sharp - G sharp - A), the third is G natural minor (G - A - Bb - C - D - Eb - F). They're all completely standard scales (either the major scale, or a scale taken from the sixth degree of the equivalent major scale), nothing fancy. Chances are, if you're sounding unique it's down to your phrasing - much more important than using "new" or "interesting" notes. Keep it up if it sounds good.

T