yes I searched around...

So I'm looking at making a Steve Harris style bass off of parts I get on ebay etc.

His signature model has a fretboard radius of 7.25 which is smaller than any necks I have found either on ebay or warmoth, allparts etc. I play a Schecter now so I have no experience with Fenders as of yet but would I be better off getting a jazz bass neck or a p bass neck to better emulate that style of bass.

also anyone know the radius of the fretboard on my schecter C4?

thanks
Steve Harris plays an early 70s Precision.

The 7.25 radius is just a vintage radius used by Fender for ages. The radius is just the amount of curvature in the fretboard. Something with a radius of 0 is flat.

Most modern basses have a 9.25 radius, which makes it rounder. It also, in many people's eyes, makes playability easier.

I'm not sure if Steve Harris signature had a modern or vintage nut width, but Steve's bass is 1.75 at the nut meaning that its an inch and three quarters from treble side to bass side. Modern P-basses are slightly slimmer at 1.65 and most Jazz basses come in around at 1.5 for a narrower neck.

Your best bet would be to get an ash precision body, Seymour Duncan SPB-3s, a full sized maple neck with medium jumbo fretwire, and some quality electronics.
Quote by GeneralElectric
Steve Harris plays an early 70s Precision.

The 7.25 radius is just a vintage radius used by Fender for ages. The radius is just the amount of curvature in the fretboard. Something with a radius of 0 is flat.

Most modern basses have a 9.25 radius, which makes it rounder. It also, in many people's eyes, makes playability easier.

I'm not sure if Steve Harris signature had a modern or vintage nut width, but Steve's bass is 1.75 at the nut meaning that its an inch and three quarters from treble side to bass side. Modern P-basses are slightly slimmer at 1.65 and most Jazz basses come in around at 1.5 for a narrower neck.