Page 1 of 2
I was looking at a Blues Jr, but apparently that doesn't have enough headroom to be heard over a band, so what are my options?
Looking for a bluesy, Mayer-ish tone.
around $400.
I'd look into a used Fender HRD.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
If you're going for a bluesy tone then a BJr has enough power if you crank it up a bit. You just won't get crystal clear cleans.
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not
at $400, you'll have to go used no matter what right?

The HRD is hella loud, so gigging with it is no problem. You might end up being too loud. I'm not an expert in blues but it may come down to what type of blues music and how loud your band/drummer is? And the venue size etc etc.
the bjr doesnt have enough headroom?
If your drummer is louder than the bjr's headroom he is insanely loud. really though, even if this is the case, why do you need crystal clear cleans for blues? Go try one out and i bet youll find that the 15 watts are MORE than enough for getting cleans way over you drummer. I get near cleans with my 5watt head over our drummer. Hes not that loud, but really, 15 watts, esp from a very cleanish amp like the fender, youll get loads of headroom.
Whoever told you 15 watts aint enough, do not know what theyre talking about

And for the blues junior, its a great amp. really great for the price. Go try it out.
AND beware of the hot rod. the 40 watts are really too loud to be played at full throttle in most contexts. You really want that powertube saturation for blues
Guitars:
Gibson L. P std. 2006
Gibson L. P studio
Höfner asj228
Main amp:
Marshall 2061x HW head
Marshall 2061cx cab
fx:
Stock BD-2
TU-2
verbzilla
C.M. Red repeat
T-rex F.T.
Practice:
Epi vjr head
2x12 V30 cab and 4x10 G10 cab
blues deluxe has craploads of headroom