hey rock stars i need your help with The C major scale. im a NewB and i had my first guitar lesson today and my instructor tryed to explain it to me but im just not getting it. i understand that the pattern goes C,D,E,F,G,A,B,C. C being the root note. but if the steps are WWHWWWH. and a W being 2 frets and a H being 1 fret shouldnt it be played all on the 5th string?like this...
5th string-3rd fret,5th fret,7th fret,8th fret,10th fret,12th fret,14th fret,15th fret

when playing the C major scale he has me playing it like this.....
5th string 3rd fret-C
4th string open-D
4th string 2nd fret-E
4th string 3rd fret-F
3rd string open-G
3rd string 2nd fret-A
2nd string open-B
2nd string 1st fret-C
can anyone please explain what the WWHWWWH mean if its not how many frets you move on the same string. what am i not understanding here? is it that the SAME notes can be played on different parts of the fret board like this...
D-4th string open or 5th string 5th fret
E-4th string 2nd fret or 5th string 7th fret
etc,etc,etc
these might seem like stupid questions but if i want to get better i need get this. thank you for your time and knowledge i really appreciate it!!! ROCK ON!!!!
Scales are collections of notes. The "WWHWWWH thing" rfers to the intervals between the notes, not the frets on the guitar. The C major scale (and all other scales) span the entire fretboard.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.
You're right to some point.

Guitar isn't like a piano. In piano you have only one key to indicate a single note. But in guitar there are enharmonic notes (notes that sound the same but can be spelt in a different way or can be played in other places on the fret board)

So you can play a scale(a bunch of notes) without moving your hand through a single string.
Quote by YA89
You're right to some point.