ive got a 4x12 cab but its too big for well... practical use. im toying with the idea of building a 2x12 cab to match with the head. its a 100w @ 4 ohms, 63w at 8 ohm, so i think i should aim for the 150w power handling range? im new to guitar cabs, but have built car subwoofer boxes before, so i have a grasp on air space, sealed vs ported vs open back, overall construction and understanding of the geometry to get the size needed.

as far as sound, well, i'd say i play rock/punk. but with effects bordering funk. kinda old incubus, or 311. i want speakers that are not going to be overly bright, nice and warm, but clear. i dont really even know where to look around online for good deals on them, i'd like to be able to get either 1 or 2 12's, as long as they can handle the power of the head.

i guess once i have an idea of the speakers i can start thinking about dimensions for the box, and if i want/need individual airspace or if they can share. i know what i want for the outside, but thats the easy part.

i tried searching to find some answers and didnt find much, if theres a thread to cover all this, lemmi know, i'll delete this.
well, for the speakers, go to warehousespeakers.com and check out their stuff.
cheap and just as good.
Fender MIA Standard Strat
ESP LTD Viper 407
Epiphone SG
Starcaster by Fender(modded with Bill Lawrence l-500-xl)
PEAVEY 6505+ (FJA transistor modd)
Peavey 65 watt transtube studio-112
Marshall 1960AV
Vader 2x12
ISP Decimator
MXR 10 band EQ
hope its not a dumb question, but are there issues of pairing different wattage speakers together? i've got an idea of what i'd like to pair, but they are either 50w+75w or 60+65w. both putting me over my 100w minimum (125w actually), but i dont know if, expecially on the 50+75 one, if there will be too much stress on the 50w cause of the handling difference. i might wire it for 8ohms, and run the 63w output on the head, as volume/power is not an issue with this head.