guitar noob here...

This may be impossible but....I'm trying to find a new practice amp because my crappy little microcube gave out today. basically, i'm trying to find an amp thats under $400usd and can produce a decent tone for Gn'R, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Led zepp., etc etc

Also, I have a couple more questsions I hope some of you might be able to answer.

1. Since I live in an apartment I have to either use headphones or turn the volume real low which makes the audio sound like crap. What are some high quality phones that I can plug into my amp and still sound good? My last ones with my Epiphone pack were awful, the lower strings gave out a muddy sound making it almost unplayable.

2. the guitar im using is a epiphone les paul standard with stock everything. How much of a difference in tone would changing to alnico II pro pickups make?

thanks
Last edited by nonamesleftWTF at Dec 15, 2008,
If you must be that quiet, i'd get a valvetronix, probably. If you want to make the people in your apartment deal with it, I'd go for a used Classic 30.
Feel free to call me Kyle.

Quote by ibz_bucket
Just so you know, I read everything you type in a Mike Rowe from Dirty Jobs voice.

Quote by tubetime86
I mean in Kyle's case, it is in the best interest of mankind that he impregnate anything that looks at him funny...
well trough a moddeling amp not much diffrence will be noticed but it will be a diffrence non the less, and its up to you wether its worth it or not to chanege the pups.

Id go for it.

Im thinking a vavlvetronix will suit you well.
blackheart little giant... or maybe a Epi VJ
Quote by gregs1020
Brett has been saving for a splawn for 4 years
countries have been toppled in the time it's taking, revolutions won got a black pres

yawn

Quote by bubb_tubbs
When he finally gets one it'll probably be televised like the Berlin Wall coming down.
The end of an era
Roand Cube 30x or 60x or peavey vypr.

I believe both have headphone outs (at least the rolands do)