I am a singer by trade, and i am sick of trying to deal with flakey l.a. guitarists, so i decided i wanted to learn how to play myself.

my issue is as follows:
i was born with a slight case of cerbral palsy and have little to no fine motor skills in the left side of my body. wiht this in mind, i bought a cheap lefty guitar to try to learn how to play (my theory was that i could form chords better with with my right hand, and strumming would be simple with my left).

Nothing much came of this for about 6 months and my guitar just sat in the corner of my room. I decided it is now vital for me to learn so i have since picked up my guitar again. I've run into some problems though.

i have a lot of trouble sitting down and playing cuz my left hand/wrist has trouble bending to make an easy strum. i'm having trouble getting my left hand to cooperate in tandem with my right (lining up with string i'm picking to which string i have my fret finger on, for example, though this could just be an issue for any beginner). The other issue is muting. since my hand is at an awkward position i'm not sure i can palm-mute correctly or sufficiently.

so my question to you advanced guitarists is this. should i take the time to REALLY strengthen my left hand and play righty (because i can strum very well with my right hand, do any finger picking and palm-muting) or continue trying to learn lefty, where i can fret with the better hand and just train my left to alternate pick/down pick without missing the strings/dropping the pick and simple **** like that.

See i can use my hand normally, to type, to grab things, whatever. But it's the little stuff like that that causes me problems.

i could really use some feedback...and any strengthening techniques you might be privy to that could really help me out.