First post on UG, altough I'vve been looking trough The Pit for quite a While now

Here's the problem: I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now and I would like to know what should you learn in theory first. I already know all my notes, what's next?
Scales! Theres a slight chance you already know them, as they techically just are notes. If you do, you should check out modes.
Quote by goest
^Absolute. Uncompromising. 100% pure, fresh. Solid. Gold.

Quote by WCPhils
That might be my favorite shoop I have ever seen on here.

Quote by KnightBand
Yes! ****ing Yes! YOU LEGEND!!!
okay here's how i learned the major n minor scales.

on any string, the Major Scale [Ionian Mode] is: 0,2,4,5,7,9,11,12 (that's the octave)
so playing those notes on the E string would produce and E Major Scale, on the G string would be a G Major, etc....

the Minor Scale [Aeolian Mode] would be: 0,2,3,5,7,8,10,12. only 3 notes change. the 3rd, 6th, and 7th notes.

the next logical step would be to arrange them into "boxes". shreders usually go for 3 notes per string (3nps).

now try this: play the E Minor, and say each note name. then play G Major and say each note name. Notice anything? you have just stumbled upon modes.....
^No, he stumbled upon the relative major.

If you're playing D E F G A B C D over C Major, it's still C Major.

Also, this is subjective, but learning the notes of the fretboard fluently is much more efficient than learning box patterns.
Quote by one vision
^No, he stumbled upon the relative major.

If you're playing D E F G A B C D over C Major, it's still C Major.

Also, this is subjective, but learning the notes of the fretboard fluently is much more efficient than learning box patterns.

the relative min/maj IS modal. it;s like STEP 1, but why not start there and THEN go into Lydian, Mixo, Dorian, and Phrygian?

and boxes are a GREAT way to reinforce theory.
Quote by k3v1n shr3dz