Way back when (About a year ago) when i started playing guitar, i usually went to my local music store to learn a few things. Not lessons that is. Just to learn a thing or two here and there. So after about a day or two of actually playing, i wanted to know how to tune a guitar of course.

Well, the guy told me to plug it into a tuner, hit an Open Note, and turn the tuner accordingly until you got the tune you wanted. So i had done this to all strings until i got to CGCFAD (Drop C, Low to High.)

Now, this has been the way ive been tuning my guitars since i started playing. But until recently i was told i was wrong about tuning my guitar. A kid at school said that i had to Fret the according string on the 5th Fret i believe (or possibly 3rd fret, not sure which) and tune it to E Standard, EADGBE (Low to High) and then when im done tuning my guitar, it will be in Drop C

Seeing as how i tuned the other way all my time playing, i figured he could be wrong. But then my rational side came in and thought, "Well what if hes right?" or "Is there more way to tune a guitar?"

Well UG, thats what i want you to tell me. I know its a dumb question, and someone out there is gonna make fun of me, but we were a beginner once, so help a Past version of you out, lol.

Thanks guys
yeah, of course there is more than one way of tuning a guitar, you could tune to drop C, e standard, Drop D, in fact there are loads of different tunings you can use,
i think thats what you mean
Wait.

Roger Waters - 12th May!
yeah e standard and drop c are totally different tunings

if you're in drop c you'd have to fret the 7 on the low c to get the g anyway
Quote by BlackandSilver
Kill 'em All in St Anger with the help of the Master of Puppets. He can Ride the Lightning, creating a Death Magnetic.

Myspace