This seems like the right place...

But recently I realized getting a teacher would be a pretty good idea. I've been playing for about 3 years and I'm to the point where I can play a lot of the stuff I want to play, but not enough of it.

What I mean is I'm a decent rhythm player but I can't even begin to solo. I just don't have the self-discipline to get faster. I understand the building blocks of theory but I couldn't tell you what all the notes in a certain scale is, but I could figure it out just fine.

So when looking for a teacher... How will I know if I have a good one?

Should I ask them what they can teach me? or would they normally ask me before an agreement?

I appreciate anyones help a ton.
I'm Tyler
my suggestion is to try and find a jazz guitarist as an instructor. my instructor is a jazz fusion guitarist and he's insanely awesome. since the genre itself is very demanding you'll know that your teacher will be able to teach you. and if that isn't possible you could simply find numerous teachers and somewhat interview them when u attend a sample session. ask them how long they've played and **** like that. eventually you'll find one that will meet your criteria and will take you where you want to be with guitar. hope this helps.
ring them up and tell them the style you play and how much you know already and what you want to play. If they can cover it then have a few lessons with them and see if you;re gaining anything from it. Also check around the area and see if there are any people who have a good reputation for teaching.
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
i'm in the exact shape you're in TS. i wish i could find a teacher.
Quote by BlackandSilver
Kill 'em All in St Anger with the help of the Master of Puppets. He can Ride the Lightning, creating a Death Magnetic.

Myspace