Hello UG, i have been using the UG site for many years, and i love the guitar tabs on it. Currently i have a small group of people with musical talents, and we sometimes come together just to have Jam sessions. However, we hit a wall when i came to Lyrics. Nobody had any experience writing, and we got nowhere. Any tips that anyone can give me about writing? we have good music, just cant put words into it. We love heavy fast guitar music (such as of BMFV, or Avenged SEvenfold) and also meaningful lyrics that arent random thoughts. well ANY help that can be given is welcome. the best way to contact me is Txt (310-487-3212) *(i dont know if thats against UG rules) or e-mail (weasler20@yahoo.com) thanks.
Get experience.

Start by writing, no matter how crappy it is. Get your feet wet, even if it's just poetry and not lyrics. You'll get better with time.
Lyrics, in my case, are like poems. If you know anything about poems, stanzas and rhyming and such, you can write lyrics. You just have to have inspiration for them. and getting THAT is a BITCH! So just think stuff up if you can. Concept album if you want. Something like Coheed and Cambria. Just try and write lyrics then try and fit those lyrics into a song and make it sound good. If you can record the song and then listen to it over and over and find out where place your lyrics is truly helpful.
Just think about what you wanna say and write it, write a story if you have to, but say everything you wan say then condense it into poetic form, doesn't matter about rhyming just get a good rhythm. If you then wanna make it rhyme (most people do) then make it rhyme. That's one technique anyway. Or just write any old tat at first just to get used to the process of writing a song from scratch ie not the way I just said.
When altitude dropping, my ears started popping. One more red nightmare...
You might not wanna post your phone number.

Baaaad idea.
Posted from Ubuntu.

Squier Precision Bass Special in Antique Burst (LH)