Hey guys,
How is it going?

I'm currently recording some tracks with my band Anti Icon (www.myspace.com/antiiconmetal) at a local studio and I think I caught the recording-bug! I suddenly have a great urge to start recording myself!
So I’ve browsed the internet and stuff and got a lot of information but I think you guys can give me more experience-related-advice.

As I'm a newbie I'm not really sure what I do and don't need.
This is the gear I have so far:

Guitar gear:
LTD MH-400NT
Peavey 6505 head
Marshall 1960 A cab
Boss NS-2

Mic
Shure SM58

Laptop
Acer Aspire 5930
Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 1
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P7350 @ 2.00GHz
Memory: 4096 MB
Hard Disk: WDC WD3200BEVT-22ZCT0 ATA Device, 298,09 GB
CD/DVD-station: Slimtype DVD A DS8A2S ATA Device
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio , NVIDIA HDMI Audio

Software
Audacity

That's about it. I reckon I've got some good guitar gear which I'm pretty proud of, but I know that this is no guarantee for a good recording.
From what I found on the internet I figure I need a Pre Amp. Is that enough, or do I still need something else to get started? As this is still my experimental phase I was wondering if there was a specific Pre Amp that is just perfect to get started with? I don't wanna spend too much on this as the passion could die out in a month or 6. I don't even know if I have any talent for this... BUT I’m definitely not going for the cheapest stuff, more like the medium-beginner-budget.

So yeah, that's about it. I have some gear and am very motivated at the moment.
Which pre amps are OK for a newbie like me to start with? Any tips?
Btw, I mostly play rock and metal (metalcore)...don't know if that makes a difference or not...

Thanks for getting through this rant of mine!

Rien
(Belgium, Europe)
What is your budget?

Moody will be along any minute with some good suggestions I bet, he's good for this stuff.