I never fingerpick so I'm a total noob at this.... but is it alright to anchor using the pinky while doing it? Or should I be using all my fingers?

Many thanks,

AG noob.
Quote by xitlight
not usually. It's poor technique.

Don't anchor at all, in any way.
its alright, there is going to always be someone around here tossing the poor technique flag at you, but do what works best for you. i find myself anchoring when doing something like rolls or just moderate fingerpicking but naturally unanchor when doing picato stuff etc.
Don't do it.
Nerve threads decoding the stream of the reality-inverting revolution
The patterned untruth of non-dream:
The closed-eye
visual delusion.
:s sorry English isn't my first language, what is 'to anchor' in this context?
anchoring the pinky, most classical guitarists will say its bad technique, but IMO that really depends on what you are playing. i define my own technique and that is a mix between anchoring and not. when i play i notice that i unanchor depending on how much of the bass strings i am using. of course i am not playing classical guitar anyways.

musicians might judge anchoring as being bad, but the majority of your listening audience is not going to be judging you the same and wont really understand what anchoring is anyways.
I see Tommy Emmanuell doing it all the time, and the man is like a legendary fingerstyle guitarist?!
honestly its not that big of a deal. but if you care about classical technique then its bad. generally classical technique is trying to make you get the best sound out of the guitar, but it is by no means the only way.
as the poster said above me, tommy emmanuel does it occasionally and hes one of the best fingerstyle guitarists. then again hes not classically trained(not even close).