Alright, well I've been playing guitar for about 3.5 years now, and I'm starting to plateau. I've been practicing every day for a while now with not much result. I play a good amount of lead stuff and most of the time I just improvise on my own. Do you guys have any suggestions for things for me to practice to help improve my playing? I'm going for better accuracy and speed mainly.
Last edited by xeroxed216 at Dec 16, 2008,
I had this same problem about a month ago (with a year and a half of playing self taught) If you havent already I recommend checkin out some lessons theyve really helped give me direction with my playing and to know exactly what I need to practice each week.
Ibanez RG7321
Jackson Randy Rhoads V with Floyd Rose
Peavey Valveking 112
Digitech RP70 Guitar Processor
Same thing happened to me recently, I advise you buy yourself a mediocre accoustic/ classical and explore a new style. I learnt some andy mckee junk and then after a month or so went back to playing lead and it opened up vast new areas for me. Very refreshing.
I've been playing for a few years, but i have to ask, what is plateuing?

Sorry :/
Plateauing is when no matter how much you work it just seems like your ability is staying the same.

I play mostly metal and blues, what other styles would you guys recommend? and also some songs to learn in those styles would be great.
jazz perhaps? Playing some swung leads may help improve your alt picking