i have no experience with valve amps and have been playing through an MG50 for the past 2 years including gigs.

my new tsl100 head arrived today which i got second hand for 380 quid ($600-650 ish) and on first impresssion the sound is far worse than my MG50.

the sustain is bad and the distortion weak but im presuming this is because it is at such a low (bedroom) volume.

so im tempted to sell this for a MG100HDFX as i got the almost perfect tone from my MG50, is that a terribe desicion i would regret???

and please dont be bias, i KNOW its an MG but my mg50 for whatever reason sounds awesome.
Well i always prefered the DSL to the TSL, but its still not a bad amp.. far superior to an MG, maybe you suck at EQing? have a fiddle with it, its good enough for alot of professionials
My Gear

Fender Deluxe Players Stratocaster
Marshall DSL 50 with 1960A
Whatever works for you, but for the love of all things holy please try some other amps...
Maybe it is damaged or there is a problem if the sound is bad, you did get second hand after all. If it sounds worse than an MG there must be something wrong somewhere.
please try some other amps.. why did you pick the tsl in the first place?

for your next amp, go tube.

EDIT: did you check the tubes?
My Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Epiphone AJ
Ibanez Strat Copy

Amps:
Orange Tiny Terror Head
Old beaten up Peavey cab
Marshall MG30DFX
Maybe.... Well what's more important, sounding good at gigs or by yourself?
:/

i know next to nothing about tubes, what do i check for?
The TSL will sound better cranked for sure, but should not sound bad at lower volumes. Try putting all the knobs at 12 o clock except for your volume and gain, adjust those however it sounds good and work from there. If it sounds really bad, you may need to replace the tubes. You could have a bad preamp tube, or just plain old tubes. I would get the amp serviced if you are experiencing worse sound than an MG series.