Am I the only one who just cannot write? Is it because I lack a drum machine or (as of late) people to collaborate with? I feel like a lot of my "written" stuff comes out sounding either cheesy or like something I've heard before, and my solos just feel repetitive. I also have a hard time finding that "magic note" that a good solo has that kind of hooks you on it. I think I am a fairly technically competent guitarist, but I just can not write anything, and can't be assed to learn written songs note for note as it isn't as fun as trying to create something.

Would it be a good idea to go back to taking lessons to have someone to work with and learn some new scales and break out of some of my playing cliches? Also, fwiw, I was considering just writing down three chords to build a song around and seeing what I could do, but I still get suck at actually building it and making a solo. I've also thought about trying to just grind at it, but that seems a bit boring.

EDIT: FWiw, I try to lean towards a hard rock/british metal sound like Van Halen, Judas Priest, Def Leppard, Airbourne, etc.
Last edited by CJRocker at Dec 17, 2008,
Yea I know what you mean. The best solution is to find another musician, preferably a bassist or guitarist, but even a drummer will do. You just need to feel the creativity and vibe from other musicians in order to spark yours again.
Ibanez RGT42DX
-D'Addario .09-.42
Washburn X10
-Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottem
Cort 5 String Bass

Kustom Arrow 160FX
Electro-Harmonix-Metal Muff w/ Top Boost
Digitech-Grunge

Quote by CJRocker
and can't be assed to learn written songs note for note as it isn't as fun as trying to create something.

That's it. You need to learn other songs to know how songs are formulated, this'll help you. You can't get inspiration out of no-where.

Secondly, music is often very simular to other music, there's only 11 notes after all.

Finally, don't force yourself to write. When you're ready again - you'll know it.