Hey, i am quite frequent to the UG website just not the forums which is a shame i wish i joined sooner, well ive been playing the guitar for just under 2 years now (electric) i have had prior musical knowledge with other instruments etc but any irrellevent to what i was asking.
Basically my intentions are to eventually play neo-classical metal and other forms of metal, atm i would say on the metronome i can accross 4 notes at 100 bps ie 1,2,3,4,4,3,2,1 but over multiple strings ie E to A im at 60 bps, E(1,2,3,4)A(1,2,3,4,4,3,2,1)E(4,3,2,1) now this concerns me i never really bothered using a metronome till about 2 weeks ago i have pretty much perfected the accuracy at around 90bps working on the 100bps and working on the 60ps(on multiple strings).

Thing is am i wrong in thinking that as ive been playing almost 2 years this is bad and i will never be able to play stuff like malmsteem, satriani, avenged sevenfold, vai, gilbert?
I really have a passion for those mentioned and love their music and want to one day just be able to have my own influence from them in my own music.

Am i wrong in thinking if i cant get close after 2 years that im doomed or does it take much longer any tips and advise would help me so much!

Thanks.
Mike
you want to be able to play malmsteen, satriani, vai etc... after less then 2 years??? Dude, go to the bathroom, take a cold shower, and after you wake up start to practice. Come back in 10 years and you still wont be good enough

all joking aside, yes you are wrong in thinking you can come close after 2 years. If it was that easy, we would all have contracts and not be sitting on this site

Epi Les Paul Std w/Duncans
ESP LTD EX260
Cry Baby From Hell
Marshall JH-1
EHX Metal Muff
MXR EVH Phase 90
Carl Martin Classic Chorus
EHX #1 Echo
Ibanez LU-20
Dunlop DCB-10
Crate V50112
Tascam US144

PEDALBOARD JUNKIES