Hey, I've been playing electric/acoustic guitar for about 7-8 years now.

Here's my dilemma:

I think my "gear" is holding me back.

I own an Ibanez Gio (Yeah, the starter pack one) and a Fender squire acoustic (Yeah, the $&^% one).

When I first got the guitar, it was a gift and I did not really see myself going anywhere as a musician. Now I find myself playing a good 2-5 hours a day.

Okay, well I've noticed that I've started to plateau in my abilities...

I don't seem to be getting much better than I am now and I am struggling to learn new techniques. (Sweep picking, "advanced" tapping, various blues/rock riffs, etc) I think this may be because my guitar is holding me back.

What do you guys think? Is it me or the guitar? Or both? It's such a cheap guitar.

I've been thinking about going all out and buying a nice SG Standard with a good half-stack, do you think a guitar of that quality would be "easier" to excel on? Like, would I learn and master techniques more quickly on the Gibson than on the Ibanez?
It will make playing a little easier and sound better, but overall ability to play wont be much affected. You might be progressing without realizing it
Quote by freddaahh
I just head-desked so hard I went through the floor and came out in Mongolia.
Well you've been playing for awhile now and if you love playing then i think you should get some new gear.

An SG and a combo though i think, a halfstack isnt really worth it, unless your playing large un-mic'd gigs alot.

If i were you i'd look for a nice tube combo amp and maybe one or two effects pedals to mess around with and try new things.
Black Knight CF-60F Semi-Acoustic.

Black Knight CP200 (Red flamed maple).

Neck-thru 4 string bass.

Acoustic 6 string.