Page 1 of 3
I am currently involved in a 3 piece rock group, obviously playing the bass. I've been playing with them for about 2 months now, and after compelting about 4 1/2 songs, my guitarist remarked to me that "your bass playing is a little too active and if possible cut your activity by about a third". Huh? I kind of understand what he means, but at the same time have no real idea how to approach it. Here's my problem.

My guitarist is the only guitarist. He often plays very rhytmic guitar lines that follow the drums very closely. I've been taught that bass should sync with drums in rhythm, and guitar in melody and harmony. Short of sub dividing my notes for his, IE I play quarter notes when he plays a sizteenth note chord progression, I can't really figure out how to lower my activity on the bass. I tried it for a few songs and it just doesn't seem to sync very well. I end up sounding like I'm playing something of a far too different rhythm from what he plays. if he played alot more lead type stuff I could really ride the drums and groove, but I don't really know what to do with it other than throw my parts in strange syncopation and beat patterns.

Recordings soon to come for possible proof/advice....
Clamdigger of the Bass Militia, PM Dinkydaisy to join
Some say a comet will fall from the sky...
Get a less whiny guitarist... or be more active just to piss him off. Unless you want the bass part to be horrendously boring (which sucks) then keep doing what your doing and tell him to get over it.
you're one of THOSE bassists...

it doesn't matter who does what if the song sounds good. you and your bandmates should use your ears, not your egos.
Audio Ecstasy Productions!

Guitar/Backline Tech in the Los Angeles area and on tour!
Custom guitar pedals and cabling for stage and studio!

I set up DAWs and tweak computers to record audio. Hit me up @ audioecstasyproductions[at}gmail.com
dude keep playin!!! screw him...
Quote by Insanitydenied