I'm a self-taught guitarist of almost eight years.
I've never taken any lessons or classes, but I've taken both Music Theory and Piano, which has helped quite a bit as far as music theory goes. But my knowledge is pretty basic, and I always have a hard time relating that to guitar.

So I bought the book Fretboard Logic and it has cleared up some things, but there are some places that I just hit a huge brick in the wall and can't find my way around it.

Basically it says that the CAGED sequence is continuous throughout the entire fretboard, which I understand as far as chords go, but when it comes to playing scales, and I play in C with the C scale in the C form, does that mean that the A scale that comes after that is technically the C scale as well? Just in A form? And therefore I can play any of those notes in all of those scales relative to C scale in C form and still be in key?

I know the answer is probably obvious, but I just can't seem to wrap my head around it. I've developed so many bad and lazy habits through teaching myself that it's almost as if I'm learning guitar for the first time.

Also, I have a bad tendency to use a lot of Power Chords. They're just easier to me I guess. But my question regarding that is simply how can I stop?

Will it help me out a lot to learn where every note is on the fretbaord, as far as breaking that habit?

Thanks in advanced. Any answers are appreciated.
Quote by Guitar0player
You're Thurstonsexual

Happily E-Married to En_zed
The public doesn't want new music; the main thing that it demands of a composer is that he be dead.
-- Arthur Honegger

Enjoy reading? Please crit my work .