I am a metal guitarist. I play music along the lines of suicide silence, or whitechapel. whatever. I found on craigslist someone selling a Peavey Transtube Supreme 100w with a peavey cab with it. He wants $900. Hes selling it because his band broke up and he doesnt need it anymore.

I haven't played it at all. So is this head good overall for metal? Is 900 a decent price?
A dreamcatcher works, if your dream is to be gay.
-- Demetri Martin

Maryland Deathcore
Hang The Wench
well, i saw the review on harmony central and the guy there payed 200 dollars for one, i think is really overpriced since it isn't a full tube amp, for metal, get a used 5150 for that money.
Look for the Peavey XXL Head. Sounds great and uses the Transtube circuitry. Read reviews on Harmony central.
My Gear:

Fender Strat w/Duncans
Hand Built(by me) guitar w/Duncans
Ibanez RG321MH
Bugera V22
Peavey Vyper 30 Watt
Xotic BB Preamp
MXR Carbon Copy Delay
Digitech Hardwire Chromatic Tuner
Fender T-Bucket Acoustic
Digitech Bad Monkey
You can get a 6505/5150 used for that price and it will be infinitely better
ohai little sig.
Quote by henis
well, i saw the review on harmony central and the guy there payed 200 dollars for one, i think is really overpriced since it isn't a full tube amp, for metal, get a used 5150 for that money.

you're right about the 5150 thing, but a 6505 sounds even better actually. but a transtube is actually a tube amp, so i suppose you misread 2000 for 200. :') I've played it, and it's got a great sound. But it's not really suitable for deathcore in that matter. If that's what you like, and I like that too, you will want to get an Engl or Krank if you really want to kill everybody.
900 What?? Bananas?? If US Dollars he is way high, as others sugested look into a 5150, XXX or JSX, all these amps are full tube amps and a great for metal.
Quote by Cachao

Johnbryant you are obviously a genius

My Gear
Custom USA Standard Telecaster
Peavey Triple XXX 212 Combo