I'm new to playing guitar & I'm having a hard time practicing. You see I work full time, I study part time and I have a girl. I can't drop any of them so I'm asking you guys to please help me get the best out of practicing even if it's only for a little bit say 30 minutes a day. I would really like to become a great player some day, to at least play for my honey. Please help me!
SG
Something that my guitar teacher told me was, to take time that your not practicing and make it the time you do. Such as, if you ever watch T.V. just practice during commercial breaks or when your taking a break from studying go fool around with the guitar or teach your girlfriend how to play guitar, it reinforces the material you've learned
start with learning all of you chords, octaves, some finger picking/alt., maybe learn some cute songs... its a start
Quote by masterquest
Thanks guys. Any tips on helping me progress faster?

Get a simple song like Crazy Train and slowly go faster and faster with it.
It helped me by a long shot and i can now play crazy train 4x as fast (not bragging)
Practice bar chords.

Practice song learning- just an easy tab (unless you can read music).. something in your skill range

Then practice a scale. I suggest a pentatonic. or the pentatonics

Divide your practice session into 3 parts.. 10min each.. more or less depending on whats going on-- maybe give more time to the Song you are learning. *play when your watching TV, or to wind down from studying.

Here is what I wrote on another thread.. Its just more indepth on a practice regiment

https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1024359&page=1
- to Make ourselves more than we are
Quote by masterquest

Unfortunately the rate of progression is directly proportionate to how much you practice. I would try for a half hour before work and/or a half hour before bed during the week and as much time as you can spare on the weekend for practice.