Hi guys,
to preface: I tried searching for this topic, but couldn't find one matching well so if there's one I've missed please direct me to it (and easy on the flames as this is my first post )

Anyhow, the time has come for me to finally get a proper amp. I've been playing for about 5 years and have never really bothered about tone and stuff... I've just been focusing on trying to get my chops up a bit. I'm currently using a Line 6 Spider III which I've come to understand is crap according to most people. As you can probably tell: I know ****-all about amps

I'll mostly be playing through my LTD Alexi-600 (switching to SD Blackouts in a few weeks), and obviously I play pretty much exclusively metal. I'm not in a band, and I play only for my own enjoyment in my apartment, so I'm not after something to work in a gig situation, just something to rattle my balls a bit.

As for price range, I can go up to about $1000 if it's worth it, but of course I'd be happy if there's a cheaper alternative than that.

Thanks for any help you can give me guys!

oh, and merry christmas.
Last edited by snuttjulle at Dec 19, 2008,
what p-ups are in it?

the passive EMG-HZ?

I'd say - first don't go active unless you really know what you're doing. You'll probably experience later on that it sounds really sterile. And depending on the amp, with that much output there's a good chance of it sounding muddy.
I'd keep the p-up - then get an amp, and then later on decide wether to change the p-up.

I'd say you could try and find a cheap used lee jackson - really awesome sounding, really good quality and the older ones are payable.

You could also try and see if you could find a cheap Peavey 5150.

If you wanna go with something new, I'd say you'd wait till you have more cash.
Ibanez s540 with gold Schaller bridge and OMGGOLD hardware

Ibanez RGR320 with Lo-Edge Pro bridge and scalloped fretboard

Lee Jackson XLSC - 500

Roland Microcube

Dunlop Jazz III black
Thanks for your answer Phantom!