I just started to play guitar a few days ago and have an Epiphone PR-150. I'm learnig from video lessons (Metal Method if you guys have heard of it) and for one of the earlier exercises I solely use the high E string. When I do this though, my A string starts vitrating and it gets quite annoying. I can mute it with something but I just want to know if this is supposed to be happening in the first place.

Also, I have the stock strings and I'm wonderig if I should order some new ones, perhaps ones of a lower guage. Would it matter this early since I'm only learning?
Last edited by Limitless at Dec 19, 2008,
What gauge strings are on it now?
Agile AL-3000 Cherry Sunburst
Fender American Strat HSS
1981 Yamaha FG-335II
Crate V1512 (USA made)
Fender Frontman 15R
Dunlop Crybaby Slash Wah
MXR EVH Phase 90
Ibanez TS9 w/ Keeley Baked Mod
Boss SD-1
Boss DD-3
Are you sure it's not just you hitting the string? You could try putting on a new set of strings, try some 11's if you do, might be easier for a beginner to play on anyway.
1981 Yamaha FG-335II
Crate V1512 (USA made)
Fender Frontman 15R
Dunlop Crybaby Slash Wah
MXR EVH Phase 90
Boss SD-1
Boss DD-3
I'm sorry, I titled it wrong. This is how you know that I am new. I am strumming the high E string and not the B string but the A string is vibrating. I'll change that no. Also I'm positive that I'm hitting only the high E string.
The A might be vibrating on the fretboard, which means you need to raise the action, or take it to a tech that can do it for you.
1981 Yamaha FG-335II
Crate V1512 (USA made)
Fender Frontman 15R
Dunlop Crybaby Slash Wah
MXR EVH Phase 90
Boss SD-1
Boss DD-3