i've been playing guitar for over a year, no formal lessons. im above "beginner" in my technique and i have some knowledge of theory, but can't read music. anyway there's a class at my college and im not sure if i should take it what do you guys think?
Quote by Sonicxlover
I once told a Metallica fan I liked Megadeth, and he stabbed me 42 times.
contrary to popular belief, lessons can prove to be a great advantage, as you will learn to thoroughly understand your instrument and music in general. I say go for it, if you can afford it.
Quote by hagstrom_9
na just buy a book and learn from it

i like books as well.

Just get a book. lol
Well what are you planning to try and get out of it?
Better technique? Better understanding of the Gee-Tar?
If you want to get better just pracitce...you dont need them damn lessons >
Can you afford it? If money is no problem, then go for it. Other than money, you have nothing to lose.
Quote by Darkkon
How much does it cost?

its 20 dollars per unit and the class is only one unit so, twenty bucks
Quote by Sonicxlover
lessons are great, try to get a one on one teacher. aside from that, you could try a music theory class. it really helps with understanding music, and since you are a beginner it will probably be mostly new to you.
I have no opinion on this matter.
Lessons are probably a great idea, but reading music is pretty simple once you get your head round the basics. If you're just going for that, I think you could quite easily pick that up by yourself, from a book, and just looking at some music.
Musically ignorant. Seeking education.

Am female. Finally have bass!

As cunning as a fox who has just been made professor of cunning at Oxford university.

Muse = genius.
Well....
Instead of going to the course...
You can take up piano lessons!!

Learn to read music AND learn to play piano at the same time...
Thats killing two birds with one stone!!
okay bigger question guys. would i be cool or a douche if i showed off the first day?