im pretty new at this, i wanna record some riffs and record solos over them and so on and so on but the thing is i have NO clue on what i need, i use to use a mic for the computer using its recording program, i got more static than music by using that. So what is it all that i need?
Crank your rig on 12, let it feedback wide-open for a good two minutes, freak your neighbors out and ENJOY THE POWER OF THE GUITAR! 'Oh, what a feeling,' and it ain't no damned Toyota!" ----Dimebag Darrell
a firewire usb connector. about 80 USD, from any music shop. its USB drive with a built in sound card which connects your Electric guitar to the computer. They come with software aswell, but other software such as cubase make it easier to use.
i suck but THATS OK!
And you probably need some nice software for it too. If you have a mac, you could just play it with Garage Band, but I don't think ur a mac user lol. So I think you can just do some research on what program you'd use to record the guitar playing.
just buy a 4-tracker, line 6 do pretty alright recorders. i'd recommend the ux-2, comes with ableton recording software, and riffworks just for recording riffs. it has mic inputs too, and it's not a bad price.
thanks for explaining this stuff for me i had no idea where to start so thanks for the info, and if you have anymore info please let me know it will be greatly appreciated
Crank your rig on 12, let it feedback wide-open for a good two minutes, freak your neighbors out and ENJOY THE POWER OF THE GUITAR! 'Oh, what a feeling,' and it ain't no damned Toyota!" ----Dimebag Darrell
Quote by breaknahabit
a firewire usb connector. about 80 USD, from any music shop. its USB drive with a built in sound card which connects your Electric guitar to the computer. They come with software aswell, but other software such as cubase make it easier to use.

Why wouldn't you just use a $20 USB instrument cable?
Quote by breaknahabit
a firewire usb connector. about 80 USD, from any music shop.