Basically, I'm new to the whole recording process and so I was wondering - is there a certain type of microphone I should look into getting? At the moment I'm not so bothered about quality as I'm a newbie and as for my budget, I would spend about £200. If there aren't really any for that price, please put down suggestions, thanks.
look into a cad 7-peice drum set on ebay. they are only like 200 american dollars and i love them. You also only need 2 stands to use these for the over heads because the rest of the mics clip to the drumset
It depends on what you wanna go for , tough a decent longer range mic should do the trick.
this is in the wrong section, should go in the GG&A, although thats still a Guitar forum, but its about gear...
for that much, go for a kit, you can get them in different price ranges, and it includes everything you need. Buying one mic at a time will surely cost a lot more,
http://www.theweekendkids.com

Gibson Les Paul Studio w/dirtyfingers pickups
Gibson Joan Jett Melody Maker
VOX ac30 head
Marshall 1960 4x12 cab
Fender Hot Rod Deville
Quote by blacklabel22333
look into a cad 7-peice drum set on ebay. they are only like 200 american dollars and i love them. You also only need 2 stands to use these for the over heads because the rest of the mics clip to the drumset

Make sure you get the premium, it sounds much better, I have both.
remember to mic the underside of the snare
jackson dk2 2008
hamer xt sunburst qt
epiphone g400
peavey vk212
morley p wah
behringer pb1000
dige bm
big muff ny
behringer dc 9 comp
member of the Jackson/Charvel Owners Club

£8.50/58fund for a ROCKTRON HUSH SUPER C PEDAL
Dude, if you have even a half decent room to record in then go for a pair of decent quality small diaphragm condensor mic's.

You will have less mix fleibility, but if you get it right it'l sound **** LOADS better than those crappy cheap drum sets.

7 mic's for £200..**** that for a fiver!