Okay so I'm fairly new to sweep picking. I've been playing for quite a few years but I've never ventured into sweeps until a few months ago.

Anyway, I have this dilemma. I'm playing an arpeggio that starts by pulling off 17 on the high e to 13, and then 15 on B, 14 on G, 12 on D, and going back up. (Sorry I sort of fail at writing tabs). But what I'm doing that makes me feel like I'm cheating is, once I pull of from the 17, I don't pick any of the other notes going down the arpeggio, I just sort of tap them with my left hand while still maintaing the rolling finger motion, but when I'm going back up the arp, I sweep them.

For the notes that I don't actually pick, it still sounds like I'm sweeping them. Doing that makes it unbelievably easier to play the arpeggio faster.

I wanted some feedback as to whether or not that would be considered MASSIVE cheating, and if I should just get over myself and go back to sitting with a metronome, picking the ENTIRE arp instead of half of it (like I have been) at an unbelievably slow tempo, and play it the "right" way. Or do you think that for certain arpeggios, my "method" is somewhat acceptable.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
If my explanation wasn't clear enough, I'm sorry...
Well, there's no such thing as "cheating" in music.

What you're doing is fine, and is actually, imo, much more useful than sweeping, as it allows you to play notes without any need for your right hand to be able to pick them.

Rusty Cooley and Martin Goulding both use the method you describe, but if you want to become truly good at sweeping, it's very useful to be able to do a proper swept upstroke - just like both those guys can.

Or you can do what I like to do and just not bother sweeping any of the notes and hammering them all. If you can keep it clean and loud, then that's fantastic for your left hand technique.
^ epiphany.... i have just realized the error of my ways.....