ive been playing for about 3 years now and i havent been able to get this down, maybe its because i get really discouraged, the problem is no matter how slowly i practice it and no matter how i hold my hand it sounds sloppy and uneven, its really annoying, the thing is for some reason the top 3 strings for me are easier to pick than the bottom 3 so i cant get it even, i try chaning my hand position but it doesnt seem to work, is there a certain hand position i need to get it so all of the strings require an equal amount of effort to pick so you can do it easily, its really frustrating me because i see people mastering sweep picking in months and its not coming to me at all.
The Mitch Clem formula
1)make jokes about rancid and NOFX (as if they dont already make fun of themselves)
2)make obvious punk puns, possibly related to food
3)make fun of Rancid and NOFX again
4)??????
5)PROFIT (and an army of internet fanboys)
SLOW DOWN.

i started with three string sweeps, and im only just learning how to do 5 string. slowly. and ive been playing for about 1 and a half years
STEAM: beachhhhhhhh

Quote by cornmancer
Please daddy, just for one hour.
There isn't a magical trick to it. Just practice slow and eventually you will develop good technique, that is when you increase the bpms
Well, no one here can magically pick up a technique.
Alot of people who say it took months, or have only been playing for a few months/a year that have 'perfected' it are exaggerating.

It took me around a year and a half to get sweep picking down to a standard I'm happy with, and that's nowhere near what most people describe as perfect, my lead playing in general is a little sloppy but I'm happy with it.

Just slow down, play each arpeggio slowly untill it's second nature, you'll hear this alot; but play along with a metronome slowly increasing speed.