When I started playing with wiring I used lead-free solder. I grew tired of it and breathed a sigh of relief when I started using led solder; I found it so easy to work with because the melting point is much lower. Now I have a lot of soldering experience and feel I should be using led-free solder so I don't grow a brain tumor or something.

So who uses led-free solder? I now have a 40W soldering iron so it might be easier than my first attempts with a 25W iron.
I don't think you can buy leaded stuff in the EU any more, so I'm probably using lead free justnow but I couldn't tell you for sure.

I just use rakes of flux and hold my pichy 5-watt or something iron in place for 5 minutes then again, hardly anything I build ever works - probably cos the insides of all the components are cooked
I don't know who but i can tell you one thing!

Not me!!~
"RAWR WIRES >:O"
One more kiss... One more touch...
I miss you, wont you hug me just one last time?

Twitter!!~ Follow Re-follow :P
I use silver solder. I have to in order to be ROHS compliant. I found that for wiring guitars a 40 watt iron was about right. For amps a 60 watt iron works much better. For pickups I had to get a soldering station with adjustable temp.
Not taking any online orders.
I've used lead free and it just takes a bit more preperation of the area for the joint. It won't be too long until almost everyone is using it due to all of these restrictions on lead.

The chances of someone developing cancer from soldering is very low unless they are crammed into a non ventilated room and solder all day.
Quote by JackoMBA
When I started playing with wiring I used lead-free solder. I grew tired of it and breathed a sigh of relief when I started using led solder; I found it so easy to work with because the melting point is much lower. Now I have a lot of soldering experience and feel I should be using led-free solder so I don't grow a brain tumor or something.