I'm wanting to move on from my classical nylon Ashton as I've been playing for over two years and really want a steel string (and think I'm ready for one) but I have a couple of dilemna/questions.

I have NO idea what I'm looking for besides the acoustic steel string aspect, non-electric.

If I go to a guitar store, do I just test out different guitars?
If so, when I'm testing them out what should I be testing...do I just play random songs to hear the sound and get the feel etc whilst the shopkeeper looks on, disgusted at my lack of talent (lol).

When you go to a guitar store to buy a guitar, what are the motions you go through, what should I be looking for and feeling with the guitar? Do the shop keepers just stand there and watch you...I'd feel pressure and probably play crap....Is there certain songs or scales or solos that you play to test if you like the guitar or not?

Thanks!
“Any problem you can't solve with a good guitar, is either, unsolvable or isn't a problem.”

- unknown

“My guitar is not a thing. It is an extension of myself. It is who i am.”

- Joan Jett
Just try out some guitars, play what ever you want, chances are the guy/woman in the shop will just leave you to play and go back to w/e they were doing, that's what happens to me lol.
Main Gear:

ESP Eclipse CTM I
Dean 'Shards' Razorback
Chapman Guitars ML-1
Ibanez AEL40SE Acoustic
Blackstar HT-5 Mini Stack
EHX Metal Muff
EHX Small Clone
tell them more or less what you're looking for (steel string acoustic) and your price range, they'll point out some guitars for you, and then probably go back to their thing and check up on you every now and again to offer a new guitar, or ask how you're going.