I'm a self taught bassist, who hasnt changed the strings from the stock strings in 3 years, when I got it. What would be the best strings for me? I play a lot of rock and ska and I do a bit of slapping.
EWWWW! When you take them off, smell them.

I used D'Addario EXL170s for awhile when I first started and played pretty much only punk and liked it. They're pretty standard gauge, 45-65-80-100. They were nice but there was just a wee bit of low end missing for my taste. Right now I have Rotosound RS66LE, 50-70-85-110. But there's not enough high end for me. I'm about to start buying individual strings.
I've used Ernie Ball, Rotosound, DRs, and Warwick strings. Rotosounds are my favorite followed by DR and Ernie Ball... in all fairness the Warwick strings were dead. You could try Rotos or DR Hi-beams. Hi-beams are pretty low tension though, and not everyone likes that. They're bright though. DRs and Rotos are stainless steel (although DR has some nickel strings and I'm sure there are nickel Rotos too).

If you're not used to stainless steel strings they might chew up your fingers a bit, but they last longer than nickel strings (although not 3 years...) and usually sound brighter if you're into that kind of sound.
2006 Warwick
MASTODON
Quote by Bottle of Dirt
EWWWW! When you take them off, smell them.

I used D'Addario EXL170s for awhile when I first started and played pretty much only punk and liked it. They're pretty standard gauge, 45-65-80-100. They were nice but there was just a wee bit of low end missing for my taste. Right now I have Rotosound RS66LE, 50-70-85-110. But there's not enough high end for me. I'm about to start buying individual strings.

I'd buy Swing 66's if I couldn't get two sets of D'Addario's for the same price
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.