I've never owned a real vocal microphone before. I've only had the cheap, crappy computer microphones that can be plugged straight into the computer. I'm looking for a good vocal microphone between $100 and $200, but I'm really not sure what to get and I don't know what kind of stuff I need to connect a vocal microphone to my computer.
These are my questions:

What microphone should I get?
What do I need to connect a vocal microphone to my computer?
You should just get a beta shure sm. Then you can use it for amps, live vocals, or recording vocals.
Quote by Nike-Man
You should just get a beta shure sm. Then you can use it for amps, live vocals, or recording vocals.

I've heard that Shures change the voice, though. I want to hear myself as I actually sound. I already have a bit of an idea as to what microphone I want to get, I'm just looking for suggestions because I have no experience with them. My second question is actually the one I'm more concerned about.
Well if you get a condensor, your going to have to get an interface. So 200 is going to get you a sh*tty mic and interface. What software are you running
Quote by Nike-Man
Well if you get a condensor, your going to have to get an interface. So 200 is going to get you a sh*tty mic and interface. What software are you running

A free program called Kristal. If I need to, I can get Cubase from my neighbor. He's offered to give me a copy of it before.
Mics such as the Shure SM57 and Studio Projects B1 are both great but you will need to run them into an audio interface to get the sound to your computer as you cant run these mics to your mic port...

The interface will cost you around $150 to start...mics generally start at $100
Last edited by moody07747 at Dec 23, 2008,