Just a note - this is not just a "MIM vs. MIA - What's Better" kind of a post.

I'm sure there's going to be differences in sound quality, but about the differences in guitar quality and durability.

Some people have said MIA's are more "built to last" than the MIM Strats, but is it really true?

I'm just a beginner, but I don't really see myself buying a bunch of guitars in the future. Fender Strats are my favorite (and have been for years) and I'd rather buy 1 MIA than 2+ MIM's.

Is an MIA really going to last longer than a MIM?

Also, taking everything into consideration, is a MIA worth the extra money?
Last edited by yellowsnow4free at Dec 23, 2008,
I would say the americans will last longer.

Better quality woods and hardware.

Take tables as an obvious example. A high quality mahogany one, will last longer than one made of cheap balsa-wood.

Thats an exaggeration obviously, but it gets the point across.
Epiphone Elitist SG (Serious)
Tokai Silver Star
Epiphone Dot
Epiphone Les Paul
Washburn J28SCEDL
Washburn J12S

G.A.S List

JCM600 (Yes a 600..)
Yeah, I might just shell out the extra to get an MIA.

I really can see myself buying my 1st guitar and keeping it forever, which would be pretty cool.

Also, if I can get a good deal on an MIA, I can probably sell it back down the road for what I paid for it.

Based on my research, a MIA costs ~$200 to $300 more than a MIM, and considering I already have an okay practice amp (Crate GX 30M) I think I can splurge a little. Heck, I found my amp at a garage sale for $30
crate GX... eh, probably isn't as good as you think.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden