Hey, i'm starting up a kinda noise/math rock band (tera melos, Giraffes? Giraffes., By the End of Tonight, Hella, Explosions in the Sky, etc.) with a friend of mine who plays drums, and i need a cheap amp that has a great clean sound and is loud enough for gigging. I have a 6505 that i use with my other stuff, which is mainly more hardcore oriented and whatnot, but the cleans on it just aren't up to par with what i need for what im trying to do with this little side project thing. What's a good cheap combo/head that just has a fantastic clean? Also, any recommendations on overdrive pedals would be welcomed also. Thanks
Budget?
I'm Joel. I play guitar. I am a student. I look at the cost of tuition, not in a dollar value, but in the guitars I'm sacrificing now, to be able to buy later.
doesnt really matter, im just asking about a cheap one. I suppose cheap can mean different things to different people. I'll prolly buy used. Just whatever you'd think would be cheap. I dont have much money set aside at the moment, i just wanna get an idea of some cheap amps to try out, then ill go from there. So, whatever you would consider 'cheap'.
It's just whatever, most of the time.

Gear:

PRS SE Custom
Ibanez RG7321 7-string
Custom Built All-parts Strat
Boss ME-50
Morley Bad Horsie
Boss PH-2
Morley Little Alligator
Boss DD-7
Peavey 6505+
Well, if you could find a used fender combo, that wouldn't cost you an arm and a leg, and would have pretty good cleans. Especially if you found a twin reverb or something, they have fantastic cleans, and are more reliable than the hot rod series. That'd be one option. Used you may be able to get a twin for 8 or 900, which isn't really cheap. With that being said you could find a used hot rod deluxe for probably 600, I know they have pretty good cleans too.

Also, really good cleans in the Traynor YCV40. That would run about 700 new I think.