Page 1 of 2
I have a standard 2007 Epiphone G-400 with stock pickups... I'm getting weak sound in the high notes and want to improve it.

Yeah, I'm using a Micro Cube - I know it's not stellar, but I like how it sounds and it's good for practice, and I'm not gonna have money for a significantly better amp any time soon. My friend has a Schecter Diamond 006 Deluxe and a Line 6 Spider Valve 212. With the Micro Cube, his guitar has better treble and high range than mine, but with the Spider Valve both guitars sound good.He's also getting a POD soon, so with any serious recording we'll be using his amp and/or POD.

I play various genres with moderate to heavy distortion - I'm not good with genres so I'll just say I like the bass to lower midrange sound from the stock bridge pickup, but the upper midrange and high treble is not that great with the Cube. I want to get a better bridge pickup at some point (I'm not as concerned about the neck pickup, I think it sounds good for cleans), hopefully something with similar or better lowrange and better highrange, and probably better output?

I have about $80 $100 to spend - I think new pickups would be a good overall sound investment, but I'm not sure - is it worth it to get a new bridge pickup at that price or should I wait until I could spend more? If it's worth it, what should I look at? I guess I'm more concerned with improving the sound I get from the Cube for practice but hopefully a good bridge pickup would be good for all amps? Or should I just get an overdrive or distortion pedal or something?
If you're not getting enough gain, you should totally just daisy-chain some solid state amps with headphone jacks together. Remember: Need gain? Use a chain!
------
Quote by Normul
You spell things like a jackass
Last edited by thelonesoldier at Dec 24, 2008,
With an amp like that, pickups would be a waste of money. The stock pickups would probably sound great with a better amp. Best bet, is to save up for a new amp.
^ +1.