Okay, I've been playing bass for almost 3 months, and yet I'm still a little shaky on the basic scale, and there's a question or two that I have about how guitar tuning works. Could someone tell me if this is right for a scale (starting at the A and going up)

A, A#/Bb, B/Cb, C/B#, C#, D, D#/Eb, E/Fb, F/E#, F#/Gb, G, G#/Ab
That is the chormatic scale. It basically means every not played one after the other. All other scales have selected notes.
Quote by boreamor
Ah very good point. Charlie__flynn, you've out smarted me

People
should
smile
more

crit4crit on 'acoustic 1 (with piano)' here

Rate my playing skills please.
what you got there is a chromatic scale, meaning it uses every one of the 12 different pitches we have in the western music system thing.

if you were to play for instance a major or minor scale you would take a certain 7 of these notes.

there are some good lessons on here explaining all that far better than I just did and how to construct them and know what notes to use, have a look at some of them
The 'E' is like the 'B', it has no # (sharp). So it would be:

A, A#/Bb, B, C, C#/Db, D, D#/Eb, E, F, F#/Gb, G, G#/Ab
Member of Bugera Users Militia
- Ibanez JPM P3 (John Petrucci Signature)
- Bugera 333XL 212
- MXR Phase 90 EVH
- Electro Harmonix Memory Boy
^shut up. his is fine, and it should be taught like that any ways.
You forgot /Db after C#

And this is called the chromatic scale, not the basic scale.
Those are all the notes, as everyone is pointing out - the "Chromatic Scale" ascending from A.

Next learn the Major Scale.

The Major Scale is a seven note scale that follows a specific "step pattern" of Whole Steps and Half Steps. (sometimes called Tone and Semitone or Whole Tone and Half Tone etc.)

A Whole Step is equal to moving two places along the chromatic scale you have outlined above. So if you started on A and moved up one Whole Tone you would land on B. It is the equivalent of moving up 2 frets on the guitar.