Page 1 of 3
Seems to be like you need to be a tenor more or less to be in a successful pop punk band. Sure there are barotones out there stretching to hit the notes, but every song is essentially written for a tenor.

Any 'popular' bands that have barotones as vocalists? Are some of these vocalists in fact barotones with just extended ranges through practice?
I'm not really a vocalist expert, but I think you are correct. Most pop punk vocalists are tenors, but there are some exceptions (Blake from Jawbreaker for instance). I personally think this sounds better compared to the raspy baritone vocals of most modern radio rock.

You might want to shoot Auals a PM, he really seems to know his stuff about vocals.
Last edited by IcePh0enix at Dec 28, 2008,
I'm not sure how low you mean by baritone, but Mark Hoppus, at least from songs I can think of at the top ofmy head, has a lower voice for pop-punk standards

really tho pop-punk has singers with higher voices exclusively because it matches the song styles better. I mean, what pop-punk band would sound in place if they had someone with a voice like Serj Tankian? lol
Quote by beadhangingOne
What happened to Snake?

Snake?

Snake?

SNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKE?!

Quote by TunerAddict
you can take my mouse and keyboard from my cold, slightly orange from cheetos, dead fingers

Quote by Baby Joel
Isis is amazing
^ Serj Tankian doesn't have that deep of a voice.

I actually noticed that too (even I do it), and I'm not sure what the deal is. Maybe it's just because pop punk sounds the best in that range?
I'm the type of nigga that's built to last
If you fuck with me, I'll put my foot in your ass
See, I don't give a fuck cause I keep bailin
Yo, what the fuck are they yellin?!

GANGSTA, GANGSTA
It'd be funny to see the singer of Type O Negative try to do pop punk with his vocals XP
"Music is an expression. Not competition." ~ Woe, Is Me

Guitar
ESP LTD Viper 400

Amp
Orange Crush 35LDX