Hi,
It is my first post here. Thanks for reading.
I've been playing an acoustic guitar for approximately one year, and I just decided
to try out some electric guitars!
Recently I really enjoy a lot different sounds come from the band X Japan.
And have been figuring how to get this kind of tone.
Here's the link to the video.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ALO14x5hQu4

I'm pretty new to the electric guitar world so sorry for my ignorance.
What kind of sound would you describe it as?
And how am I able to achieve it?
Will the "VOX valvetronix" or "Roland cube 20x" suffices? What kind of settings do I need?

Again thanks for reading. I hope I can get the right direction for my first setup.
Well for a new guy to electric guitars you sure picked a nice smooth tone to aspire to. :P I can't say I can be of a ton of help, though I have played through the cube many a time, and its very versatile, and may be able to get you what you want.
I'm Joel. I play guitar. I am a student. I look at the cost of tuition, not in a dollar value, but in the guitars I'm sacrificing now, to be able to buy later.
the Cube 30x has much better modeling. I'm not terribly familiar with the capabilities of the Vox though. The Cube 30 could probably get pretty close to that tone.
Well, truth be told, to get the sound of someone you like, you need to get their set up. If you can't do that, look for an undercut model. (Instead of Gibson Les Paul, go Epi LP) If that is still too expensive then shoot for a Valvetronix or maybe a Peavy Vypyr, but I haven't had any experience with the Vypyers.
GEAR
Epiphone SG-400
Marshall 1987 JCM-800 2210 100W

Proud Member of:
The SG Owners Unite
Marshall Amplification
EHX Users Guild

The True Eccentric Tea Drinking Appreciation Preservation Society