I know the pentatonic scale up and down the fretboard...that's the only scale I know. I've been playing guitar for nearly 6 years and I know a crapload of songs. That's how I've learned up to this point. I think it's time to grow up a little as a guitarist and learn some scales and arpeggios.

Where to start? Resources I may need? I don't know the notes up and down the fretboard memorized. Is this a necessary first step? Do I just learn through learning the scale shape, or memorizing what notes belong to which scales?

Here's to progress as a guitarist in 2009, as I'm currently stuck in a guitar rut.

Music is life.
man BUY guitar pro 5

it has every scale and arrpeggio shape, aswell as a fretboard diagram

VERY useful

'08 Ibanez S5470 Prestige
Gibson SG Special - discontinued teal finish
Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier
4x12 Mesa Oversized Slanted Cab
BOSS TU-2
iSP Decimator
theres 5 shapes you can play the major scales in, learn those then learn how to change those shapes into minor (harmonic + melodic) or blues scales and such. i cant find a link for the 5 shapes though so google it.
Quote by zarsss
theres 5 shapes you can play the major scales in, learn those then learn how to change those shapes into minor (harmonic + melodic) or blues scales and such. i cant find a link for the 5 shapes though so google it.

http://www.guitarplayerworld.com/Shapes_of_the_Major_Scale.html

This page outlines the 5 major scale shapes you're talking about if anyone else is looking for the same things I am.
Learn the notes on the fretboard then scales will make sense, as will chords and arpeggios
There's no point memorizing a load at shapes if you don't understand what they represent or how to use them.

TS, you're absolutely correct, you need to learn the notes on the fretboard if you want to progress with theory. While you're learning them start reading josh urban's crusade articles in the columns section.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62